Library Class and Subject Guides: Accounting: Get Started

Start Here: Best Library Resources for Accounting

We recommend these search tools, sometimes called databases, to find sources in this subject:

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text to articles, company reports, industry reports, market research reports, and country reports about all aspects of business, “including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, and economics.”

Checkpoint EDGE (Checkpoint ID required)
Access federal, state, and local tax codes as well as regulations, cases, rulings, and other tax related materials.

NOTE: Checkpoint student IDs are temporary and will automatically expire on July 31st and December 31st. If you are no longer enrolled as a student at MSU, Mankato, you will be unable to access Checkpoint EDGE and/or register for a Checkpoint ID.

Trouble shooting tips:

Below are some strategies for addressing common problems that are encountered when registering for a Checkpoint student ID:

Are you using either the Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge Browser?

Have you entered your MavMail email address which is usually your first name dot last name @ mnsu.edu (e.g., lisa.baures@mnsu.edu)?

Have you cleared your cache?

Have you cleared your web browser history?

Have you closed all tabs except those associated with registering for a Checkpoint student ID?

If you have tried all of the above suggestions, try the following:

Using the Google Chrome browser, locate the drop down menu to Customize and Control Google Chrome (three vertical dots in the upper right corner) and select the option to open "New Incognito window." Enter the following URL address: https://login.exproxy.mnsu.edu/login?url=https://cprg.thomsonreuters.com

Still experiencing problems with trying to register for a Checkpoint student ID, please contact Lisa Baures.

Checkpoint EDGE General Calculators
Access calculators for auto, business, credit card, investment, loan, mortgage, personal, retirement, savings, and tax. To access these calculators you will need to register for a free Checkpoint EDGE ID. After signing into Checkpoint EDGE, navigate to the box for Tools and then click on the General Calculators link.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and full text to articles from the back issues of core journals in accounting.
Working with publishers, JSTOR creates a "moving wall" of coverage for each journal. "The moving wall is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issues available in JSTOR." Therefore, the most current article available through JSTOR is usually 2-5 years old.
Wall Street Journal via ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thoroughly indexed, users will have access to top news stories and information contained in various sections of the paper in regard to local and regional news.

Access Recommended Free Sites

Accounting Research Network
Provides access to cutting edge research in the field of accounting and other related fields.
Accounting Today
A source for online business news for the accounting community.
AccountingWEB
An online community and resource center for accounting professionals providing practical, useful content and guidance from top industry voices.

Find Sources Using MavScholar

Use the MavScholar search box below to find most, but not all, library items available at Minnesota State Mankato.

How do I...?

Visit these other guides to view step-by-step instructions

Accounting

Public Services/College of Business Liaison Librarian

Updates to this page

Start Here: Best Library Resources for Accounting

Find Sources Using MavScholar

Find articles, books, videos & more

How do I...?

Find Articles

Find Books & E-books

Find Videos

Cite Your Sources

Find Maps, Atlas, & Travel Guides

Find Theses & APPs

Find Data & Statistics

Find Images

Find Newspapers