Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
BBC World News
The British Broadcasting Corporation's news service focused on international affairs and current affairs beyond the UK.
The Economist (via ProQuest)
This link is to the Library online version of the The Economist. You can search or browse recent issues from this page. This version contains only the text of articles as graphs, charts and pictures are omitted. To see the articles with graphics included, use the print version, which is located in the Periodicals Collection on the first floor of the Library at the call number HG11.E2
National Public Radio News web page includes a mix written and audio articles with good coverage of international issues.
New York Times via ProQuest
This is the New York Times via ProQuest. Pictures and graphs are excluded in the most recent three years. Also consider browsing articles in World section of the web version of
Public Broadcasting Service web site provides textual and video news stories covering national and international topics.
PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition This link opens in a new window
The PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition provides access to 1200 films from the Public Broadcasting Service, including a variety of video documentaries and series.
This Google custom search box searches the sources above. Note that the it searches the web version of The Economist and New York Times.
Chicago Manual of Style
Chicago Manual of Style, 17th Edition This link opens in a new window
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format.
Writing in Political Science
The Europa World Year Book (Print) by
Call Number: Reference JN1 .E85
Publication Date: 2018-06-14
CIA World Factbook
"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities."
Political Handbook of the World (Print) by
Call Number: Reference JF37 .P6
Publication Date: 2017
BBC Country Profiles (Online)
"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions."
The Statesman's Yearbook 2018 (Print) by
Call Number: Reference JA51 .S7
Publication Date: 2017-10-20