Skip to main content
Minnesota State University, Mankato
Minnesota State University, Mankato

Library Support for Course Instructors

Request a session with a librarian, access research activities to use with your classes, and more!

Library Workshop Options

Library Workshops for Your Courses

Librarians offer a variety of library instruction sessions. These workshops are designed to introduce students to electronic and print resources as well as research strategies to successfully complete class assignments and prepare for life-long learning.

Use the descriptions below to gain an idea of what sessions or topics might be useful for your class. Request a library session using the "Request a Workshop" form on this guide. Instruction options include:

  • Basic 50 Minute Workshop (covers the library website, catalog, reference services, and the basics of database searching)
  • Basic 90 Minute Workshop (covers the library website, catalog, reference services, and database searching including common search strategies and practice time)
  • Library A La Carte (build your own instruction session)

Please note times are approximate and individual librarian approaches may vary. Once you have been paired with a librarian, he or she will work with you on the details of the workshop.

You are also invited to suggest topics for your session. Use the "Other Comments or Requests" box on the workshop request form to input these ideas.

Basic 50 Minute Workshop Description

The 50 minute library workshop is well-suited for many 100-level classes.

This workshop covers:

  • Library website
  • Finding books, videos, and more through the library catalog
  • Journal database introduction
  • Reference services

As a result of this workshop, students are able to:

  • Identify where to search for books on a topic
  • Identify the location and call number in the library catalog to find materials
  • Distinguish between the library catalog and a journal database
  • Access one database to find journal articles
  • Understand full text articles can be found in other library sources
  • Use the Boolean operator AND
  • Identify relevant search terms
  • Use library resources and services
  • Identify at least one method to obtain reference help

Suggested add-ons include (additional time required):

  • Effective Search Tips (20 minutes) - This module goes beyond the introductory search information shared in a standard 50 minute session.
  • Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals (10 minutes)
  • Website Evaluation (10 minutes)
  • Avoiding Plagiarism (10 minutes)

Basic 90 Minute Workshop Description

The 90 minute library workshop is well-suited for 100-level classes that would like to dedicate additional time to library instruction and hands-on research.

This workshop covers:

  • Library website
  • Finding books, videos, and more through the library catalog
  • Journal database introduction (frequently Academic Search Premier and CQ Researcher)
  • Effective search strategies in one or more databases
  • Reference services

In most cases, 90 minute sessions allow students to spend time researching their own assignment topics with a librarian close by and ready to answer specific questions about research on specific topics.

As a result of this workshop, students are able to:

  • Identify where to search for books on a topic
  • Identify the location and call number in the library catalog to find materials
  • Distinguish between the library catalog and a journal database
  • Access one or more databases to find journal articles
  • Understand full text articles can be found in other library sources
  • Identify and refine search terms
  • Use Boolean operators and truncation
  • Manipulate results using database facets and limiting factors
  • Use library resources and services
  • Identify at least one method to obtain reference help

Suggested add-ons include (additional time required):

  • Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals (10 minutes)
  • Website Evaluation (10 minutes)
  • Citing Sources (10 minutes)
  • Avoiding Plagiarism (10 minutes)
  • Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery (10 minutes)

 

Library Workshop a la Carte Options

Use these discriptions to to guide you through the creation of a customized library course. If time permits, these modules may be added to 50 or 90 minute sessions--just make sure to note this addition on your request form!

Menu Item

Description

Estimated Time

Library Tour

 A librarian will walk students through the physical building. Highlights of the tour include:

  • Where to check out books
  • The Reference/Information Desk
  • Collections and building organization
  • Technology in the library
20-30 minutes 
Library Website Tour 

A guided tour of the library's online presence. Students will learn:

  • Where to access various online resources (and what these resources might be)
  • What information is needed to access online resources
  • What is a Class or Subject Guide
  • Where to turn for online assistance 
10-15 minutes   
Library Catalog Demo

Students will learn the basics of finding books, videos, and more through the online catalog. Topics include:

  • What is in the catalog?
  • Catalog search strategies
  • Accessing materials found through the catalog
  • Placing holds and interlibrary loan requests
  • Getting help
10 minutes   
Journal Database Demo  

A librarian will guide students through searching in one or more relevant database. Popular database choices include EBSCO and ProQuest. Topics covered include:

  • What is a library database?
  • Selecting an appropriate database
  • Journals vs. Articles
  • Types of information found in databases (peer reviewed articles, trade journal articles, newspaper stories, book chapters, reviews)
  • Retrieving full-text articles
  • Other database-specific tools and features
15 minutes
Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery    Students will learn what interlibrary loan and document delivery are, how to submit interlibrary loan requests, and how to sign up for document delivery. 10 minutes
Effective Search Tips

Topics include:

  • Gathering background information
  • Developing keywords
  • Refining and revising a topic
  • Combining search terms
20 minutes
Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals Students will learn the characteristics and possible uses of different types of resources including scholarly articles, trade journals, and popular magazines. 10 minutes
Website Evaluation Students will learn how to evaluate websites--and other materials--using the CABLE method. 10 minutes
Citing Sources Students will learn why citations are important, how to read citations, and where to turn for citation help. 10 minutes
Avoiding Plagiarism Students will learn what plagiarism is, why it is important, and how to avoid it. 10 minutes
Reference Services    Students will learn how to contact librarians to receive assistance with their research. 5 minutes
Hands On Practice    Students are provided time to practice new skills with a librarian available to assist with questions. Varies
Other    Work with your librarian to incorporate other topics into the session. Ideas include: elements of a research article, subject headings vs. keywords, crafting a good research question, etc. Varies

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.