Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

#NoJusticeNoPeace - Community History Project

Project Introduction

“Black Lives Matter”, “Justice for George”, and “I Can’t Breathe” were just some of the many rallying calls heard and seen in protests around the world following the death of George Floyd in Minnesota at the hands of four members of the Minneapolis Police Department in the summer of 2020. His death and subsequent protests created a worldwide movement to advocate for social justice across the United States and the world.

Many members of the Minnesota State University, Mankato and the greater Mankato community have been involved or impacted by these protests.  The University Archives plans to document self-experiences in the form of a community history project to help record personal experiences related to the social justice protests that began in the summer of 2020.

Because every individual’s experience is different and valued, the University Archives at Minnesota State University, Mankato will provide expanded documentation on the #No Justice, No Peace social justice experiences for current and future researchers and make it easily accessible through our physical and digital collections, freely available on the internet. We want to ensure we leave behind a substantial record of our experiences for future scholars and historians.

Project Overview

To expand access and understanding about the #NoJusticeNoPeace social justice movements to current and future individuals, the University Archives will collect documentation and accept donations on the #NJNP experiences for inclusion in the Archives.  These materials will be made available through our physical and digital collections. Examples of physical and digital collections can be found by searching our Collection Guides, ARCH, or Cornerstone websites.

This project is primarily focused on collecting the experiences of Minnesota State University Mankato students, employees, and alumni.  Contributions from greater Mankato community members will also be accepted.  All participants must be 18 years of age or older.

About Minnesota State Mankato and the University Archives

The University Archives and Southern Minnesota Historical Center contains records from the creation of the Mankato Normal School in 1868 to the present and the surrounding twelve county region.  The University Archives is the official repository of the records of Minnesota State University, Mankato. The Southern Minnesota Historical Center documents the history of individuals, organizations, and businesses from South Central Minnesota.

Minnesota State Mankato, a comprehensive university with 14,604 students, is part of the Minnesota State system, which includes 30 colleges and seven universities.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License
.