Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mankato Kiwanis 100th Anniversary Oral History Project

Project Introduction

February 19, 2021 marks the 100th anniversary of the Mankato Kiwanis Club.  As part of this anniversary, the Southern Minnesota Historical Center at Minnesota State University, Mankato will be conducting an oral history project to document the programs, activities, and impact of the Mankato Kiwanis club. 

Project Overview

The goal of the project is to document individual experiences and memories about the impact of the Mankato Kiwanis club over its first hundred years through a series of oral history interviews and personal reflections.  These interviews will be recorded, transcribed, and included in the Archives at Minnesota State University,  Mankato.  These materials will be made available through our physical and digital collections. Examples of physical and digital collections can be found by searching our Collection Guides, ARCH, or Cornerstone websites.

This project is primarily focused on collecting the experiences and memories of current and past Mankato Kiwanis club members.  Contributions from family members of club members and individuals impacted by Mankato Kiwanis club programs and activities will also be included. 

The Southern Minnesota Historical Center is the designated repository of Mankato Kiwanis club records.  This oral history project will supplement the official club records. 

About Minnesota State Mankato and the University Archives

The University Archives and Southern Minnesota Historical Center contains records from the creation of the Mankato Normal School in 1868 to the present and the surrounding twelve county region.  The University Archives is the official repository of the records of Minnesota State University, Mankato. The Southern Minnesota Historical Center documents the history of individuals, organizations, and businesses from South Central Minnesota.

Minnesota State Mankato, a comprehensive university with 14,604 students, is part of the Minnesota State system, which includes 30 colleges and seven universities.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License
.