Skip to main content

COVID-19 Community History Project (Community Information)

This page is designed to support the community history project to document the COVID-19 experience of members of the Minnesota State University, Mankato community, the Greater Mankato area, and the 12 Minnesota counties surrounding Mankato.

Project Introduction

The COVID-19 Pandemic has become a unique and significant part of world history. As these historic events continue to affect our everyday lives at Minnesota State University, Mankato and the greater Mankato community, the University Archives plans to document self-experiences in the form of a community history project to help record our daily lived experiences during the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Because every individual’s experience is different and valued, the University Archives at Minnesota State University, Mankato will provide expanded documentation on the COVID-19 Pandemic experiences for current and future researchers and make it easily accessible through our physical and digital collections, freely available on the internet. We have no way of knowing how significant of an event this may be at this time, but we want to ensure we leave behind a substantial record of our experiences for future scholars and historians.

Project Overview

To expand access and understanding about the COVID-19 Pandemic experience to current and future individuals, the University Archives will collect documentation and accept donations on the COVID-19 Pandemic experiences for inclusion in the Archives.  These materials will be made available through our physical and digital collections. Examples of physical and digital collections can be found by searching our Collection Guides, ARCH, or Cornerstone websites.

Video Introduction to Project

About Minnesota State Mankato and the University Archives

The University Archives and Southern Minnesota Historical Center contains records from the creation of the Mankato Normal School in 1868 to the present and the surrounding twelve county region.  The University Archives is the official repository of the records of Minnesota State University, Mankato. The Southern Minnesota Historical Center documents the history of individuals, organizations, and businesses from South Central Minnesota.

Minnesota State Mankato, a comprehensive university with 14,297 students, is part of the Minnesota State system, which includes 30 colleges and seven universities.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License
.