Ask a Librarian
Linking Evidence with Analysis
In the body, discussion of the artifact continues but does so with a degree of specificity and detail necessary for the reader to understand the various shades of meaning that inform your analysis of the artifact. Cues are also provided to guide the reader through the logical steps that are essential to identifying links between facts and concepts or ideas upon which the analysis is based.
It is generally true artifacts evolve from and reflect the assumptions and values commonly associated with a given culture. It is also generally true artifacts can modify assumptions and values over time that in turn may lead to changes in patterns of behavior. Look for linkages between norms, values, and symbolic themes when conducting an analysis of your artifact.
Consider these questions:
- What purpose does my artifact serve?
- Who is the audience my artifact was created for?
- Are there any possible arguments being made by my artifact? If so, how are they conveyed to the audience?
- What historical or political events occurred before or during the creation of my artifact?
- What were the popular trends or controversies that were occurring at the time my artifact was created?
Where to find articles
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles, as well as full text of articles from over 4,600 publications, covering almost every academic subject.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text newspaper articles from many states and countries, transcripts from mostly major American news sources, and provides citations and selected full-text to legal materials.
-
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowProvides citations to historic articles indexed in the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature.
-
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film.
-
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
-
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles and other materials covering all areas of biological sciences, including biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of disciplines such as agriculture, biology & genetics, arts & humanities, biochemistry, business, chemical engineering, chemistry, computer science, earth & planetary sciences, economics, environmental science, mathematics, medicine & dentistry, physics & astronomy, social sciences, and veterinary science & medicine.
-
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts "covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education."
-
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text to articles, company reports, industry reports, market research reports, and country reports about all aspects of business, “including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, and economics.”
-
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Provides the largest and most complete collection of full text journals in education research and is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers.
-
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers information covering the human impact to the environment with a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles.
-
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles and books about psychology and "disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work."
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles about sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Where to find newspaper articles
-
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides full text articles from alternative and independent press.
-
American Indian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
American Indian Newspapers provides digital access to North American Indigenous journalism from a range of communities, historic presses, and contemporary periodicals spanning two centuries from 1828-2016.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and full text to newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
-
Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub This link opens in a new window
Free full-text access to the Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub, including indexing and abstracts, provided by the Minnesota Historical Society.
-
New York Times, Historical 1851-2015 This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover digitization of the entire newspaper for 1851-2015. Searchable via the ProQuest platform.
-
New York Times, The (1999 to Current) This link opens in a new window
Complete text of the New York Times (1999 – present) via the ProQuest search platform. Includes abstracts and comprehensive indexing.
-
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search current U.S. news content, as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980's.
-
Wall Street Journal via ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Thoroughly indexed, users will have access to top news stories and information contained in various sections of the paper in regard to local and regional news.
Where to find books, videos, music and more
-
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to books and other materials (including those that are out of print) held by libraries worldwide and allows users to request books via Interlibrary Loan.