Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 250 Henry VIII and the Reformation Parliament (Biel): Citing Sources and other Tools

Chicago Manual of Style Links

The following websites provide information for the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th Edition writing style. 

Turabian Citation Guide Links

The following websites provide information for the Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 7th Edition writing style.  Turabian as it is refered to is only slighly modified from the 15th edition of the Chicago Manual of Style.

Manage Citations with Mendeley or Zotero

Citation managers are applications that collect, manage, and cite research sources. MSU Mankato's librarians recommend Mendeley or Zotero. 

Mendeley or Zotero can help you:

  • Create bibliographies and in text citations for assignments and research projects. Available writing styles include APA, MLA, Chicago, and many more. 
  • Organize citations to create a personalized literature database.
  • Export citations for library databases and freely available websites.
  • Save and annotate PDFs.

Evaluating Web Sources

This video will help viewers understand why internet sources can be problematic for research and how to best determine if your website sources are reliable or not.

Primary vs. Secondary Sources

So you need primary and secondary sources, but what does that mean?

Primary Sources

Primary sources are materials directly from the historic event or time. They provide first-hand accounts of history. This includes materials written or produced in the time period you are studying, eyewitness accounts, documents related to specific events, and later recollections by participants in historic events. Examples include:

  • diaries
  • correspondence
  • governments documents
  • photographs
  • autobiographies
  • newspapers from the era
  • archives collections
  • oral interviews, etc.

Secondary Sources

Secondary sources are books, articles, websites, and other published materials where an author presents an interpretation of an event based on primary sources. The writer is not an eyewitness to, or a participant in, the historic event. Examples include:

  • encyclopedias
  • history textbooks
  • general subject histories
  • general subject websites

Secondary Sources are useful for gaining a general understanding of an event, person, etc. and can lead you to primary sources.

Information from: Hoogland, Tim and Kurt Kortenhof, Introducing National History Day, St. Paul Minnesota Historical Society, 2002. Introducing National History Day Accessed February 3, 2003.

Citation Books in the MSU Library

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License
.