It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contain court decisions. Will almost exclusively be appellate or court of last resort level cases. We have three primary reporters: Supreme Court Reporter, Federal Reporter (US Court of Appeals), and Northwestern Reporter (IA, MI, MN, NE, ND, SD, WI). United States Reports is the title of the Fed. Govt's publication of US Supreme Court Decisions.
West Key Notes and Nexis Uni Headnotes are distinctive subject heading systems. Preceding the text of each decision the publisher includes the "notes" or subject headings where this decision is categorized. Digests are indexes to corresponding reporters arranged alphabetically by these notes or headings. Thus the Supreme Court Digest entry for "Civil Procedure" will list all decisions using that Key Note in the Supreme Court Reporter. Federal Practice Digest includes Federal Reporter as well as other federal courts.
Shepard's Citations allows you to look up cases by citation and it will list other cases that have cited this case. It also uses symbols to indicate the validity of the your initial decision (i.e. has it been overturned). Print volumes correspond with sets of reporters. Nexis Uni provides current Shepard's citation analysis (Shepardizing).
Called an encyclopedia, it is written to cover the entire range of law, providing brief entries with basic rules. It does provide extensive references to court decisions, so is useful for finding sources as well as secondary content.
American Jurisprudence 2d (Am. Jur. 2nd) by Lawyers Co-operative Publishing
Publication Date: WE DO NOT HAVE THIS
A competitor to Corpus Juris Secundum, this legal encyclopedia is not owned by our Library, but available in Nexis Uni.
This is primarily an index to law review articles although some books are mentioned as well. It is located in the main Reference Collection, not with other indexes near Periodicals. Law review articles cover a wide range of topics and provide numerous references to cases and statutes. Nexis Uni and EBSCO's Legal Source are contemporary online sources of law review articles for our Library.
American Law Reports are collections of focused articles, called annotations, that summarize cases from disparate jurisdictions to explain a legal concept. While they look similar to law review articles, they do not address larger social issues or provide criticism. The extensive citations provided also serve as a finding aid to cases on specific issues. ALR Fed focuses exclusively on federal legal issues.
Treatises are formal works providing a systematic discussion of broad areas of law. They are well respected and often written or associated with highly regarded legal scholars. We have very few in our library, but a few outdated examples exist the Reference and General Collections.
Restatements are legal rules or principles derived from a review of court cases across disparate jurisdictions. The rules are usually followed by comments which explain limitations and in some cases justifications. They also provide examples called illustrations. These are the most respected of the documents noted here and are frequently used by courts in their decisions. We have very few sets in the Library.
Use to find court cases, law review articles, and many other legal resources. Also includes American Jurisprudence legal encyclopedia, Ballentines Legal Dictionary, and allows shepardizing of court decisions.