Library Class and Subject Guides: Newspapers: Minnesota Newspapers

Minnesota Newspapers

This page offers both current and historical Minnesota newspapers, along with access to both subscription and free newspapers.

Star Tribune (Minneapolis/St. Paul) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage from 1986 - current.

MinnPost
MinnPost is a nonprofit, nonpartisan enterprise whose mission is to provide high-quality journalism for news-intense people who care about Minnesota.

St. Paul Pioneer Press This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
St. Paul MN newspaper covering April 22, 2010 - present.

Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1930)
Browsable, full-image archive of the newspaper from 1867-1930.
Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub
The Minnesota Digital Newspaper Hub is a searchable website from the Minnesota Historical Society that makes millions of pages of Minnesota newspapers available online. The Hub contains geographically and culturally diverse newspapers published between 1849 and today. Due to potential copyright restrictions most issues published less than 95 years ago can only be accessed from the Gale Family Library at the Minnesota History Center.
Minnesota Newspaper Collections in the Minnesota Digital Library
Currently includes; GLC Voice (1979-1992), Iapi Oaye, (1871 – 1939), The Ojibwe News (1988 – 2009), The Organizer (1934), Pierz Journal (1909 – 1913), Pine River Journal (1935 – 1946), The Sauk Centre Herald (1867 – 1868), The Word Carrier (1884 – 1939).
Reporter - Minnesota State University, Mankato Student Newspaper, 1926-present
Digitized issues of the Reporter available from ARCH: University Archives Digital Collections. New content is being added regularly.