It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Chicago Manual of Style (CMS) is one of the most comprehensive style manuals available. Use it to guide you in matters of style not addressed by your discipline's style manual. The CMS is the perfect reference for instructions on citing unique resources or resources not covered in a specific style manual. Follow the layout and general order presented by CMS and make adustments according to your specific style manual, such as journal title abbreviations or presentation of author's names.
Call Number: T11 .S386 2006 (3rd Floor General or 1st Floor Reference)
Scientific Style and Format is the most recognized, authoritative reference for authors, editors, publishers, students, and translators in all areas of science and related fields. The seventh edition of this useful resource has been fully updated and expanded to reflect changes in recommendations from authoritative international bodies. New chapters cover the responsibilities of authors, editors, and peer reviewers in scientific publication and discuss copyright requirements and practices. The chapters on books and journals provide advice pertinent to both electronic and print publication, and authoritative online resources are listed where available. Both American and British styles are covered. Everyone involved in scientific publishing should have the seventh edition of Scientific Style and Format on hand.
Call Number: REF QD8.5 .A25 2006 (3rd Floor General or 1st Floor Reference Collection)
In the time since the second edition of The ACS Style Guide was published, the rapid growth of electronic communication has dramatically changed the scientific, technical, and medical (STM) publication world. This dynamic mode of dissemination is enabling scientists, engineers, and medical practitioners all over the world to obtain and transmit information quickly and easily. An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound. This extensive revision of The ACS Style Guide thoroughly examines electronic tools now available to assist STM writers in preparing manuscripts and communicating with publishers. Valuable updates include discussions of markup languages, citation of electronic sources, online submission of manuscripts, and preparation of figures, tables, and structures. In keeping current with the changing environment, this edition also contains references to many resources on the internet. With this wealth of new information, The ACS Style Guide's Third Edition continues its long tradition of providing invaluable insight on ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and writing style for any STM author, reviewer, or editor. The Third Edition is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts.
Call Number: General Collection--3rd Floor QH304 .K59 2009
Publication Date: 2009-04-10
This book provides practical advice to students who are learning to write according to the conventions in biology. Using the standards of journal publication as a model, the author provides, in a user-friendly format, specific instructions on: using biology databases to locate references; developing sound reading strategies; paraphrasing for improved comprehension; writing for a particular audience with the appropriate tone; preparing lab reports or scientific papers, posters, and oral presentations with accepted format and content; self-evaluating drafts; using peer and instructor feedback for professional development; and preparing oral presentations in PowerPoint.
These guidelines for engineering writing and scientific writing are designed to help students communicate their technical work. To that end, these guidelines contain advice, models, and exercises for common writing and speaking assignments in engineering and science.
Manage Citations with Mendeley or Zotero
Citation managers are applications that collect, manage, and cite research sources. MSU Mankato's librarians recommend Mendeley or Zotero.
Mendeley or Zotero can help you:
Create bibliographies and in text citations for assignments and research projects. Available writing styles include APA, MLA, Chicago, and many more.
Organize citations to create a personalized literature database.
Export citations for library databases and freely available websites.
If you are writing for a specific publication, use Google to find the journal's home page and look for information or instructions for authors. Most scholarly journals have information that details matters of style, organization, and systems for citing sources.