Urban & Regional Studies: Books

After a generation of pathbreaking scholarship that has reoriented and enlightened our perception of the American city, the two volumes of the Encyclopedia of American Urban History offer both a summary and an interpretation of the field. With contributions from leading academics in their fields, this authoritative resource offers an interdisciplinary approach by covering topics from economics, geography, anthropology, politics, and sociology.

These two volumes address the specific theories, key studies, and important figures that have influenced not just the individual discipline but also the field of urban studies more generally. The Encyclopedia of Urban Studies is intended to present an overview of current work in the field and to serve as a guide for further reading in the field.

The Handbook of Urban Studies provides the first comprehensive, up-to-date account of the urban condition, relevant to a wide readership from academics to researchers and policymakers. It provides a theoretically and empirically informed account embracing all the different disciplines contributing to urban studies.

Green Cities: An A-to-Z Guide provides an overview of the key concepts that urban planners, policy makers, architects, engineers, and developers use to understand the sustainability dimensions of the urban environment. It identifies cities that have taken steps to become greener and discusses the strategies they have used; it also reviews broad concepts associated with green cities.

"The second edition of The Encyclopedia of Housing is a timely update for housing research after the recent economic turmoil and mortgage crisis in the United States....With recent developments and the change in economic conditions over the past fifteen years, the updated content is pertinent and thought provoking....Overall, the contemporary content, multidisciplinary perspectives, and improved usability make The Encyclopedia of Housing a quality reference resource for college and university libraries. Even if your institution owns the first edition, I recommend updating the collection with the second."

Michelle H. Donlin

The Encyclopedia of Community is essential for history, sociology, psychology, anthropology, economics, and public administration students and the interested public, who will turn to the encyclopedia for inspiration and illumination, stories and strategies.