Provides citations to books and other materials (including those that are out of print) held by libraries worldwide.Use this database to request books via Interlibrary Loan. *This resource is provided by the Electronic Library of Minnesota, freely accessible to anyone in Minnesota!*
Routledge Handbooks Online brings together the world’s leading scholars to provide a cutting-edge overview of classic and current research and future trends in the Social Sciences and Humanities, while providing an authoritative guide to theory and method, the key sub-disciplines, and the primary debates of today.
The default search and subject area links will search all of the content on the Routledge Handbooks Online platform, not just what we pay for. If you are asked for a log-in, this means we have not paid for access to that particular ebook or article. If you would like to limit your search to ONLY our subscribed content, visit the main search page on the RHO platform and be sure the box for “Full Access Only” is checked on the left-hand side of the page.
n 100 entries or 'mini-chapters', this two-volume set highlights the most important topics, issues, questions and debates relevant to students studying for a degree in communication. The aim is to provide information at a level between brief encyclopedia entries and detailed journal articles.
With more than 300 entries, these two volumes provide a one-stop source for a comprehensive overview of communication theory, offering current descriptions of theories as well as the background issues and concepts that comprise these theories. This is the first resource to summarize, in one place, the diversity of theory in the communication field. Key Themes Applications and Contexts Critical Orientations Cultural Orientations Cybernetic and Systems Orientations Feminist Orientations Group and Organizational Concepts Information, Media, and Communication Technology International and Global Concepts Interpersonal Concepts Non-Western Orientations Paradigms, Traditions, and Schools Philosophical Orientations Psycho-Cognitive Orientations Rhetorical Orientations Semiotic, Linguistic, and Discursive Orientations Social/Interactional Orientations Theory, Metatheory, Methodology, and Inquiry
The ability to speak with confidence and deliver winning presentations can accelerate your career, earn people s great respect, and enable you to achieve your greatest even most impossible-seeming goals. But what many people don't realize is that anyone"
Popular Books on Communication Studies Topics in the General Collection on the 2nd and 3rd Floors
Call Number: General Collection--2nd Floor E183 .A498 2006
Publication Date: 2006-10-05
Public speeches have profoundly shaped American history and culture, transforming not only our politics but also our language and our sense of national identity. This volume (the first of an unprecedented two-volume collection) gathers the unabridged texts of 45 eloquent and dramatic American speeches delivered by 32 American public figures between 1761 and 1865, beginning with James Otis's denunciation of unrestrained searches by British customs officials--hailed by John Adams as the beginning of the American Revolution--and ending with Abraham Lincoln's Second Inaugural Address. Rich in literary allusions, vivid imagery, and emotional appeals, political oratory flourished during this period in Congress and at campaign rallies, public meetings, and reform conventions, and reached a wider audience through newspapers and pamphlets. Included are Patrick Henry's "liberty or death" speech, George Washington's appeal to mutinous army officers, and Henry Lee's eulogy of Washington. Speeches by John Randolph and Henry Clay capture the political passions of the early republic, while three addresses by Daniel Webster--his first Bunker Hill oration, his second reply to Hayne, and his controversial endorsement of the Compromise of 1850--demonstrate the eloquence that made him the most renowned orator of his time. American speeches by figures that did not hold office are included as well: union leader Ely Moore attacking economic aristocracy; woman's rights speeches by Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Sojourner Truth; Henry Highland Garnet's incendiary call for slave rebellion; Frederick Douglass's scathing "What to the Slave Is the Fourth of July?" John C. Calhoun's defense of slavery, Charles Sumner's "The Crime Against Kansas," Alexander Stephens's "Corner-Stone" speech, and several speeches by Abraham Lincoln reflect the sectional conflicts that culminated in the Civil War. Each volume contains biographical and explanatory notes, and an index. LIBRARY OF AMERICA is an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation's literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America's best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries.
Call Number: General Collection--2nd Floor P99.5 .C58 2003 (and Online)
Publication Date: 2005-03-23
The goal of this edited volume is to provide a much needed bridge between the research on nonverbal communication and the application of those findings. The book features contributions from some of the leading researchers in the field. These distinguished scholars apply their understanding of nonverbal communication processes to a variety of settings including hospitals and clinics, courtrooms and police stations, the workplace and government, the classroom, and everyday life. It explores nonverbal communication in public settings, in intimate relationships, and across cultures and general lessons such as the importance of context, individual differences, and how expectations affect interpretation. Applications of Nonverbal Communication appeals to a diverse group of practitioners, researchers, and students from a variety of disciplines including psychology, health care, law enforcement, political science, sociology, communication, business and management. It may also serve as a supplement in upper level courses on nonverbal communication.
Call Number: General Collection--2nd Floor PN4129.15 .L83 2009
Publication Date: 2008-10-31
By far the leading speech textbook of our time, The Art of Public Speaking has defined the art of being the best for more than 10 million students and instructors. Whether a novice or an experienced speaker, every student will learn how to be a better public speaker through Lucas' clear explanations of classical and contemporary theory and thorough coverage of practical applications. The new edition offers a revolutionary digital experience--McGraw-Hill Connect Lucas and Connect Lucas Plus. The Connect Lucas products allow students and instructors to access all course materials including a complete media and research library, study aids and speech preparation and assessment tools from a single place, connectlucas.com. With Connect Lucas, students use the traditional printed text. Specially marked icons in the text guide students to the media-rich, interactive features available at connectlucas.com. Connect Lucas Plus allows students and instructors to access the fully-integrated, media-rich textbook from connectlucas.com. As students read the book online, linked icons guide them to embedded media-rich, interactive features. Learn more and visit connectlucas.com.
Contemporary Perspectives on Rhetoric by Sonja K. Foss; Karen A. Foss; Robert Trapp
Call Number: PN187 .F67 2002
Publication Date: 2001-08-01
Enchantment by Guy Kawasaki
Call Number: HD30.3 .K38 2011
Publication Date: 2011-03-08
Intercultural Communication in the Global Workplace by Linda Beamer; Iris Varner
Call Number: HD30.3 .B4 2008
Publication Date: 2006-11-14
Interplay by Ronald B. Adler; Lawrence B. Rosenfeld; Russell F. Proctor; Russell F. Proctor
Call Number: BF637.C45 A33 2007
Publication Date: 2006-03-16
Nonverbal Communication in Human Interaction by Mark L. Knapp; Judith A. Hall
Call Number: BF637.N66 K63 2010
Publication Date: 2009-03-12
Public Speaking and Civic Engagement by J. Michael Hogan; Patricia Hayes Andrews; James R. Andrews; Glen Williams