It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Britannica Online Academic has been thoroughly updated with new content that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries. New content includes World Data Analyst, Gateway to the Classics, and a collection of Notable Quotations as well as new functionality including advanced search capabilities and the Britannica Workspace, a research organizer. *This resource is provided by the Electronic Library of Minnesota, freely accessible to anyone in Minnesota!*
Includes Chemistry; Biotechnology in Context; The Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography; Comprehensive Nanoscience and Technology; Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics; Scientific Thought In Context among other titles.
Call Number: Electronic Book--Access limited to one user at a time.
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Packed with carefully researched, up-to-date facts and figures, the seventh edition contains valuable updates on health/safety issues, over 30 tables of data and lists many useful websites for additional chemical and biochemical data. The authors provide detailed, clear presentations on chemical/physical methods for purifying organic and inorganic compounds as well as biochemicals, including recrystallization, distillation, electrophoresis, and several others.--Review adapted from Choice.
Since its inception in the early 1950's, this book has become the number one resource for those who need to evaluate the hazard of substances used in commerce. Now in its eleventh edition, it contains extensive data on approximately 26,000 substances, including 2000 new entries. The three-volume set now includes Immediately Dangerous Life or Health (IDHL) levels for approximately 1000 chemicals, proving essential for designing adequate ventilation systems and selection of respiratory protection. Other highlights include: A special appendix containing information of nerve gases and biological agents that might appear in the workplace as a result of terrorist activity; It is the only reference that combines, for so many substances, data on toxicological, fire, reactivity, explosive potential, and regulatory information; Regulatory data covers exposure level classifications for a number of regulatory agencies, from OSHA to the U.S. Department of Transportation Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials, Eleventh Edition provides an essential, up-to-date resource for professionals in industrial hygiene, safety, emergency response, law, and policymaking.
Written for a broad, cross-disciplinary audience, the Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry addresses the fundamental discipline of biological chemistry underlying virtually all of the life sciences. This compilation of more than 500 different entries encompasses all aspects of biochemistry, as well as the extensions of this subject into the related fields of molecular biology, cell biology, genetics and biophysics. This comprehensive encyclopedia covers all areas of biological chemistry written by more than 500 selected international experts. Articles are generously illustrated including more than 800 images in four-color. Each entry contains a clear, concise review of the topic along with illustrations, a glossary of technical terms and a section for additional reading. Each entry further contains general background and term definitions as well as a comprehensive review of the current research in the field. Students, science journalists and scientists seeking a concise introduction to specific topics will appreciate the clear, tabular format of each entry. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com. *Four-volume set with topics arranged from A to Z for easy reference *Seven subject areas covering all areas of biological chemistry *Over 500 full-color articles of 4-9 pages each *Over 1300 illustrations throughout with 800 in 4-color and over 200 tables *Glossary of specialized terms and 'Further Reading' section provided for every article *Includes entries on the latest research techniques *Appropriate for students, researchers, and professionals
Get Books Worldwide
Search WorldCat to find and request books from other libraries using our Interlibrary Loan service. See our Get Books from Other Libraries guide for detailed instructions.
Provides citations to books and other materials (including those that are out of print) held by libraries worldwide.Use this database to request books via Interlibrary Loan. *This resource is provided by the Electronic Library of Minnesota, freely accessible to anyone in Minnesota!*
Print and Electronic Books in the Library
Library Services has many print books on chemistry. You can browse the whole collection by going to the third floor and looking through the shelves for the books labeled QD.