Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HLTH 477 - Behavior Change: Foundations and Strategies: Home

Welcome

Welcome to your library guide for Spring semester 2018.

Please see the list of databases below to begin your search.  When questions arise, don't hesitate to "Ask a Librarian" or consult the other resources on this guide.

Where to find research articles?

Academic Search Premier – provides citations and abstracts, as well as full text of articles from over 4,600 publications, covering almost every academic subject

Health Source (EBSCOHost) – provides access to scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) – provides full text access to e-books about nursing and 29 core nursing journals; also provides citations and abstracts to articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and other materials about all aspects of nursing and allied health

Nursing and Allied Health Database (Proquest) – provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text to articles about all aspects of nursing and allied health

PsycInfo – provides citations and abstracts to articles and books about psychology and "disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work."

PsycArticles - provides “full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber”

Cochrane Collection – a source of high quality health care data for both providers, patients and those responsible for researching, teaching, funding and administrating at all levels of the medical profession

Education Source (EBSCOHost) – provides the largest and most complete collection of full text journals in education research and is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals, and policy makers

Sociological Abstracts – provides citations and abstracts to articles about sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences

MedLine – provides citations and abstracts to articles covering all medical topics, including "research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services; produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine

Citing articles

See the Citations library guide for information about citing journal articles, including use of APA Style (American Psychological Association).

Two Elements in APA Citing - Example

1. In-Text (within the paper) Citation

Collective intelligence through the Internet illustrates "No one knows

everything, everyone knows something, all knowledge resides in humanity."

(Lévy, 1997, p. 20).

2. Citation for References Page

Lévy, P. (1997). Collective intelligence: Mankind's emerging world in

cyberspace. New York: Plenum Trade

View the slide show "Test Your APA Style Knowledge" for additional examples.

Avoiding plagiarism

See the library guide to Academic Honesty and Avoiding Plagiarism for further information about your responsibilities as a student and writer.

Plagiarism is taking credit for someone’s intellectual work or ideas

Q – Why should you care about plagiarism?

A – Academic Honesty – Students can fail a class or be suspended from the university if they commit plagiarism at MSU

Q – When writing a paper or preparing for a presentation, ask yourself … Is this my idea or did the idea come from another source (like a book or website)?

A – If another person or entity created the work or idea, you must give them credit for creating the information.

Plagiarism is using exact words without quotation marks

 If you copy phrases or sentences exactly from books, journals, or websites…

  • Place quotation marks around the copied phrase or sentence
  • Cite the original source in the paragraph and work cited/references page

Plagiarism is rewording another person’s ideas without citing them as the source

If you use another person’s work or ideas, but you rephrase with your own words…

  • Cite the original source in the paragraph and work cited/references page

Ask a Librarian

Librarians online 24/7:

Find Sources Using MavScholar

Use the MavScholar search box below to find most, but not all, library items available at Minnesota State Mankato.

Find articles, books, videos & more

 

Common elements of a scholarly journal article

Abstract – What is this article about? The abstract is a concise summary.

Introduction – What is the key problem, issue, or question?

Method – How will the scientist investigate the problem?  With a laboratory test?  Or a survey?  Or another type of study?

Results – Research findings, including observations, statistics, graphs, etc.

Discussion / Conclusion – What did the scientist learn?  What did the study prove? What questions are still unanswered?

References – What other scholarly articles did the scientist consult when conducting this research and writing this article?

Need Writing Help?

Managing Citations with Mendeley or Zotero

Citation managers are applications that collect, manage, and cite research sources.

MSU Mankato's librarians recommend Mendeley or Zotero. Both citation managers are endorsed by Memorial Library as effective, low-cost (or free) tools that offer a variety of benefits to their users.

Mendeley or Zotero can help you:

  • Create bibliographies and in text citations for assignments and research projects. Available writing styles include APA, MLA, Chicago, and many more. 
  • Organize citations to create a personalized literature database.
  • Export citations for library databases and freely available websites.
  • Save and annotate PDFs.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License
.