Library Class and Subject Guides: HIST 430/530 History, Sport and International Diplomacy (Loayza 2023): Getting Started

Research Checklist

This guide is filled with many useful resources to support your research. While great, that can be overwhelming. Here are some research tools that everyone in class should be using. (aka A Place to Start)

MavScholar
Search for books, videos, journal articles available online and in the library

WorldCat Discovery
world cat
This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to books and other materials (including those that are out of print) held by libraries worldwide and allows users to request books via Interlibrary Loan. *This resource is provided by the Electronic Library of Minnesota, freely accessible to anyone in Minnesota!*
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Provides citations & abstracts to journal articles about the United States and Canadian history.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
sport discus
This link opens in a new window
Featuring more than 400 full text titles, SPORTDiscus™ with Full Text is the most comprehensive, bibliographic and full-text database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, coaching, training, physical therapy, nutrition, and more.
New York Times, Historical 1851-2015 This link opens in a new window
Cover-to-cover digitization of the entire newspaper for 1851-2015. Searchable via the ProQuest platform.

Requesting an Interlibrary Loan
Video This video will walk you through the process of requesting materials from other libraries through our Interlibrary Loan service. You’ll learn how to request items on the Library Services website, and learn how and when to return materials.