Library Class and Subject Guides: HIST 191w- US since 1877 (Cooley 2024): Find Articles Using Databases

Finding Articles Overview

Find Articles

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Provides citations & abstracts to journal articles about the United States and Canadian history.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access all JSTOR archival journal collections, now also including Sustainability, Public Health, Security Studies, and more.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles, as well as full text of articles from over 4,600 publications, covering almost every academic subject.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.

Requesting Articles We Don't Own Through Interlibrary Loan

You can search MavScholar to find and request articles from other libraries. See our Get Articles from Other Libraries guide for detailed instructions.

How to Use Google Scholar Off-Campus

If you are using Google Scholar off campus, change your settings to link to our library holdings.

Click here to access Google Scholar's settings
Select Library Links to the left
Search for Minnesota State University Mankato
Check all options for Minnesota State University Mankato
Press the Save button
Conduct your search in Google Scholar
If you cannot access the articles by clicking on the title, click the "View It @ My Library" or the double arrow icon and the "Get it @ MNSU" links.
You may be asked to enter your StarID username and password to access the article
If the article is still not found, use Interlibrary Loan to have the library get the article for you.