The British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth and early twentieth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.
Users can study the progression of events over time by browsing full-text, full-image issues of the Minneapolis Star Tribune from 1867-2001. Includes news articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, cartoons, and more.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785 and onwards, delivers every page as published from 220 years of The Times (London) to your library. The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Users may search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, and advertising.
Presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents, covering a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history.
The U.S. Serial Set, a full-text collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress, includes Congressional reports and documents, executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress, the American State Papers, as well as maps, illustrations, photos, and lithographs.
During World War II and the first decade and a half of the Cold War, the Office of Strategic Services (OSS) and the State Department assigned leading scholars to write special, classified reports about Asia, Europe, the Soviet Union, Latin America, and Africa. At the time, the reports helped to shape U.S. foreign policy decisions, and, now, as part of History Vault, the over 3,500 reports in this module provide an excellent source for studying the major areas of the World during the period from 1941 to 1961.
This resource consists of declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events - including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions - from 1945 to the present. The collections are curated and indexed and feature chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews.
Gale Primary Sources allows unified searching of Gale primary source collections including: Archives Unbound, British Library Newspapers, The Sunday Times Digital Archive, The Times Digital Archive, Indigenous Peoples of North America and Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive.