Skip to Main Content

HIST 609: Research Seminar: African History (Odinga 2022)

Selecting Your Topic

Professor Odinga has identified a number of possible research themes/issues for you to consider.  This page is a quick introduction to some of the topics and how they can be supported by resources at Memorial Library.

See the Primary Sources @ Minnesota State Mankato for links to the resources listed below.

Browse the Recommended Free Primary Sources page for additional ideas. 

Getting started with Selected Topics

Apartheid in South Africa
Library Databases

  • Apartheid South Africa, 1948 - 1966
  • U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection (1789 - 2019)
  • Gale Primary Sources 
  • Historical New York Times

Library Collections

  • Microfiche Collection - South African Press Digests, 1949-1972
  • Autobiographies and writings by Nelson Mandela
  • Autobiographies and correspondence of other South Africans
    • Letters from Robben Island a Selection of Ahmed Kathrada’s Prison Correspondence, 1964-1989.
    • Life for Freedom: the Mission to End Racial Injustice in South Africa

Gender and women’s studies in African History
Library Databases

  • U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection (1789 - 2019)
  • Gale Primary Sources  
  • Historical New York Times
  • American Periodicals (1740-1940)
  • eHRAF Collection of Ethnography

Library Collections

  • Microfilm Collection - Sex and gender manuscript sources from the Public Record Office. Parts 1 and 2: Empire and Suffrage

Health, Disease and Healing

Library Databases

  • U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection (1789 - 2019)
  • Gale Primary Sources  
  • Historical New York Times
  • American Periodicals (1740-1940)
  • eHRAF Collection of Ethnography
  • Archives Unbound: In Response to the AIDS Crisis: Records of the National Commission on Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome, 1983-1994

Genocide in Africa

Library Databases

  • U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection (1789 - 2019)
  • Gale Primary Sources  
  • Historical New York Times

Library Collections

  • Autobiographies
  • U.S. Government Documents

Civil Wars in Africa

Library Databases

  • U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection (1789 - 2019)
  • Gale Primary Sources  
  • Historical New York Times
  • Digital National Security Archive

Library Collections

  • Autobiographies
  • U.S. Government Documents

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License
.