Library Class and Subject Guides: Management and Entrepreneurship: Research Companies

Information on this page includes:

Research Guides

globalEDGE Social Responsibility Guide
Identifies and provides resources for researching the social responsibility of companies.
Private Company Research (Library of Congress)
Public Company Research (Library of Congress)
Searching for Company Information (New York Public Library)
NOTE: Our library does not have access to all the databases/resources identified in this guide.

Certified B Corporation
A directory identifying companies that meet specific requirements related to social and environmental performance and high standards of disclosure and legal accountability.
GreenBook Directory
Access company information that include addresses, phone and fax number, branch offices, and scope of activities. Also provides links to market research resources.
Kompass
A global business to business (B2B) directory.
Manta.com
Database of detailed company information to facilitate research on possible partners, vendors and suppliers, source products and materials, as well as information about competition or potential adjacent markets.
Thomas Register of American Manufacturers
Directory information plus links to online catalogs are supplied. More than 72,000 product headings and over 170,000 companies listed.

Global Brand Database
Search brand information (trademarks, appellations of origin and official emblems) from multiple national and international sources, including marks registered through WIPO’s Madrid System.

BRS
Access information and reports on sustainable business strategies.
Business & Human Rights Resource Center
Access information on business and human rights encompassing measures for ensuring corporate responsibility and transparency.
Corporate Register
A collection of corporate responsibility and related reports.
Corporate Social Responsibility Newswire (CRSwire)
Access current news, views, and reports in corporate responsibility and sustaninabiity.
Ethical Corporation
A publication focusing on news related to ethical investing and corporate social responsibility.
Institute of Business Ethics
Access information and good practice on building and maintaining an ethical culture.
MSCI Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) Indices
Rates companies based on criteria related to their corporate social responsibility.
United Nations Global Compact
"A voluntary initiative based on CEO commitments to implement universal sustainability principles."

Violation Tracker (Corporate Research Project)
National search engine on corporate misconduct. It covers banking, consumer protection, false claims, environmental, wage & hour, unfair labor practice, health, safety, employment discrimination, price-fixing, bribery and other cases initiated by 43 federal regulatory agencies and the Justice Department since 2000.
Violation Tracker User Guide

990 Finder
Access an organization's IRS return.
BBB Wise Giving Alliance
A charity review database that grades charities based on their spending and accountability, and accepts and mediates consumer complaints.
National Center for Charitable Statistics (NCCS)
A portal for nonprofit practitioners, researchers, and policymakers to download and access data on nonprofit organizations.