Library Class and Subject Guides: Gender and Women's Studies: Write & Cite with APA and ...

General Citation Sources

QuickCite
Use the dropdown menus to generate example citations for your resources.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) offers support to writers through online reference materials, including guides to popular citation formats: the APA Style, MLA Style, and Chicago Manual of Style.
Purdue OWL - APA Guide

APA Links

The following websites provide information for the American Psychological Association, 7th Edition writing style.

APA References | American Psychological Association
APA In-Text Citations | American Psychological Association
APA Paper Format | American Psychological Association
QuickCite
Use the dropdown menus to generate example citations for your resources.

APA Style - Bias Free Language

APA Style - Bias-Free Language Style and Grammer Guidelines
"The American Psychological Association (APA) emphasizes the need to talk about all people with inclusivity and respect. The guidelines for bias-free language contain both general guidelines for writing about people without bias across a range of topics and specific guidelines that address the individual characteristics of age, disability, gender, participation in research, racial and ethnic identity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality."

Get Writing Support

Writing, Speech and Language Tutoring Center - Center for Academic Success
Writing a paper and need some help? The campus Writing Center offers both on-site and online support for any stage of any writing process. This is a free service to students.

Chicago Manual of Style Links

The following websites provide information for the Chicago Manual of Style, 18th Edition writing style.

Chicago Manual of Style
The Chicago Manual of Style is the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. Offers both 17th and 16th Edition information.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online: Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide
Includes a comparison between notes and bibliography, and author-date styles
QuickCite
Use the dropdown menus to generate example citations for your resources.

Writing an Annotated Bibliography

What's an annotated bibliography?
Video created by Brock University Library (3:35)

Writing an annotated bibliography
This PowerPoint provides a quick overview of the sections of an annotated bibliography and provides examples using the Chicago Manual of Style.

Purdue OWL - Sample Annotated Bibliographies
Sample annotated bibliographies for MLA, APA, and Chicago styles.

Managing Citations with Mendeley or Zotero

Citation managers are applications that collect, manage, and cite research sources.

MSU Mankato's librarians recommend Mendeley or Zotero. Both citation managers are endorsed by Memorial Library as effective, low-cost (or free) tools that offer a variety of benefits to their users.

Mendeley or Zotero can help you:

Create bibliographies and in text citations for assignments and research projects. Available writing styles include APA, MLA, Chicago, and many more.
Organize citations to create a personalized literature database.
Export citations for library databases and freely available websites.
Save and annotate PDFs.

Citation Management Platform Setup Information
Base OpenURL information for Minnesota State University, Mankato, which may be required to set up your citation management platform.
Mendeley Citation Management Application by UO Libraries
Mendeley is a free desktop and cloud application that helps you manage your research.
Zotero Citation Management Application by GSU Libraries
Zotero is free desktop application that helps you save, manage, and cite research sources.