Skip to main content

COVID-19 Community History Project

This page is designed to support the community history project to document the COVID-19 experience of Minnesota State University, Mankato students, employees, friends and family and community members.

Information for Work Study, Student Help and Displaced Student Workers

This page is for students who worked on campus prior to spring break 2020 and had a current 2019-2020 student work study or student help contract.  If you qualify, contact your campus supervisor to participate. 

Minnesota State Mankato students may be hired as funds permit.  If you are interested in working on this project, please fill out this form. 

Student Worker Training Video

Student Employee Expectations

  1. ​Complete all required readings and quiz (3-5 hours; one time)

  2. Communicate with your supervisor twice a week (minimum) (1-2 hours/week)

  3. Do a voluntary weekly journal, diary or other type of personal reflection of how the COVID-19 pandemic is impacting you (1-3 hours/week).  If you are uncomfortable sharing your personal experiences, visit the FAQ for Student Workers page for other options. 

    1. If you are logging three hours/week, you should be doing multiple entries of have 3-5 pages each week

    2. About an hour a page

  4. Conduct interviews with classmates, university employees, and/or your friends and family about how the COVID-19 pandemic is impacting them (1 hour/interview)

    1.  If the interview is longer than an hour then actual length of interview

  5. Manage interview details (1-2 hours/interview)

  6. Create and edit a transcription for each interview (1-4 hours/interview). You can utilize the following software https://otter.ai/login to help with your transcription. The basic plan is free and comes with 600 minutes per month, which should be what you need to do your transcriptions. Please see the following training video and Otter.ai starter guide for more information. If you need help, please contact archives@mnsu.edu. Once the transcription is complete, you can download the text file and email the audio and text file to archives@mnsu.edu. Thanks!

Documenting Your Time

As you add your time worked, please add the COVID-19 Community History Project activities you worked on in the Comment Section.  For more information on filling out your timesheet, please talk to your supervisor or here is a short video from Student Payroll services that talks about entering your time:

https://admin.mnsu.edu/finance-and-administration/departments/business-services/student-payroll/student-etime/student-etime-video/

COVID-19 Community History Project eTimesheet

Training and Quiz

I have never conducted an Oral History Interview.  What do I do?

If you have never conducted an oral history interview, here are five required readings that we ask you to complete along with a short quiz.  If you would like to read more, please see additional readings found on the Resources for this Project page.  In addition, take a look at our Top 10 Things to Remember when Conducting an Oral History Interview for some helpful hints to think about before you record an intereview.  If you have questions, please ask! 

  1. Read Chapter One "An Oral History of Our Time" in Doing Oral History: A Practical Guide by Donald Ritchie (34 pages) found at https://mnpals-msumk.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01MNPALS_MSUMK/mt2vjq/alma9989804207704301
     
  2. Read Chapter Three "Conducting Interviews" in Doing Oral History: A Practical Guide by Donald Ritchie (30 pages) found at https://mnpals-msumk.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01MNPALS_MSUMK/mt2vjq/alma9989804207704301
     
  3. Read Principles for Oral History and Best Practices for Oral History from the Oral History Association found at https://www.oralhistory.org/about/principles-and-practices-revised-2009/
     
  4. Read "Interviewing Tips" from The American Folklife Center (Library of Congress) found at https://www.loc.gov/folklife/familyfolklife/oralhistory.html
     
  5. Read "Interviewing Techniques" from the UCLA Center for Oral HIstory Research found at https://www.library.ucla.edu/destination/center-oral-history-research/resources/conducting-oral-histories-family-members

 

Top 10 Things to Remember when Conducting an Oral History Interview

  1. An oral history interview is not about you. The focus should be on the interviewee and they should do most of the talking, with occasional follow-up questions from you.  Keep your opinions out of the interview.  You may be inclined to interrupt and argue with your interviewee.  Don't!  You can record your own experiences and thoughts at a later time.  Consider submitting a self-interview or asking someone to interview you!
     
  2. Start the recording by clearly stating your name, date, time, location and have the interviewee state their name.  Here is an example: My name is Heidi Southworth and it is April 3, 2020 at 10:05 AM and we are recording in the University Archives as part of the COVID-19 Community History Project. Today, I am talking with ____(person gives their name). Test your equipment in advance of the interview and try to set up your equipment in a quiet place where the interview will not be interrupted by too much outside noise. 
     
  3. Once the interviewee begins talking, don't interrupt them. Interruptions disrupt the flow of their narrative, break their concentration, and mean you may never get to hear the rest of what they had to say. Wait until they complete their train of thought to ask a follow-up question or introduce a new topic.
     
  4. Keep your questions short and avoid complicated multi-part questions.  Do not ask more than one question at a time as most interviewees will address only one of the multiple questions and the other questions may simply be forgotten to answer later.  We have a list of questions in our Project Questions/Prompts section of this guide for you to use.  If you would like to ask other questions, please run them by your supervisor first. 
     
  5. Be open to hearing sad experiences (or happy) and negative (or positive) or ambivalent feelings.  An oral history should offer the interviewee the opportunity to reflect on their experiences thoughtfully and honestly without having to follow a party line. And it is your attentiveness and willingness to take the interviewee's feelings and experiences seriously that enables that thoughtful reflection.
     
  6. Above all, respect the PRIVACY of the person you are interviewing.  NEVER share their experiences with anyone else.  Do not share on any form of social media or a personal website what someone has said in their interview with you.  These reflections can be both painful or have a happy ending, and it is up to the person to decide where and when they want to share something.  This is one purpose of our donor forms.  We want the interviewee to be comfortable sharing their story with the Archives and campus community and it is their choice.  Do not try to persuade an individual to share their story online or to allow you to post the materials.  You are just collecting the materials for the Archives.  Archives staff will gather, organize and describe the materials and make them available in acceptable forms and places at a later date.  
     
  7. It is okay for you to provide concise restatements of what the interviewee has said or add brief observations and comments (in moderation and without bias) during the interview.  These can stimulate responses from the interviewee and inject more spontaneity into the interview.  Avoid skewing the contents with your own opinions.  Remember this is about their experiences not yours.
     
  8. Listen closely to your interviewee.  Smile and nod to show that you are still listening.  This encourages the interviewee to keep talking.  Avoid vocalizing "mm-hmms" and "uh-huhs" if you can as these will just clutter the recording. 
     
  9. Watch your body language.  Avoid staring out the window, looking around the room, tapping your fingers on the table, pointing at the interviewee when they say something you may disagree with or even frowning as these all suggest to the interviewee that you are hostile and don't care about their story or that you are not paying attention and really don't want to be there. 
     
  10. After the interview, send the interviewee a Thank-you note/email thanking them for their time.  And if they have questions, tell them to email the Archives team at archives@mnsu.edu

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License
.