Library Support for Course Instructors

Library Workshops for Your Courses

Librarians offer a variety of library instruction sessions--online or in-person and synchronously or through asynchronous instructional modules. These workshops are designed to introduce students to electronic and print resources as well as research strategies to successfully complete class assignments and prepare for life-long learning.

Use the descriptions below to gain an idea of what sessions or topics might be useful for your class. Request a library session using the "Request a Workshop" form on this guide. Instruction options include:

• Basic 50 Minute Workshop (covers the library website, catalog, reference services, and the basics of database searching)
• Basic 90 Minute Workshop (covers the library website, catalog, reference services, and database searching including common search strategies and practice time)
• Library A La Carte (build your own instruction session)

Please note times are approximate and individual librarian approaches may vary. Once you have been paired with a librarian, he or she will work with you on the details of the workshop.

You are also invited to suggest topics for your session. Use the "Other Comments or Requests" box on the workshop request form to input these ideas.

The 50 minute library workshop is well-suited for many 100-level classes.

This workshop covers:

• Library website
• Finding books, videos, and more through the library catalog
• Journal database introduction
• Reference services

As a result of this workshop, students are able to:

• Identify where to search for resources on a topic
• Identify relevant search terms
• Use one or more databases to find appropriate research on their topic
• Understand full text articles can be found in other library sources
• Identify at least one method to obtain reference help

Suggested add-ons include (additional time required):

• Effective Search Tips (20 minutes) - This module goes beyond the introductory search information shared in a standard 50 minute session.
• Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals (10 minutes)
• Website Evaluation (10 minutes)
• Avoiding Plagiarism (10 minutes)

The 90 minute library workshop is well-suited for 100-level classes that would like to dedicate additional time to library instruction and hands-on research.

This workshop covers:

• Library website
• Finding books, videos, and more through the library catalog
• Journal database introduction (frequently Academic Search Premier and CQ Researcher)
• Effective search strategies in one or more databases
• Reference services

In most cases, 90 minute sessions allow students to spend time researching their own assignment topics with a librarian close by and ready to answer specific questions about research on specific topics.

As a result of this workshop, students are able to:

• Identify where to search for resources on a topic
• Identify and refine relevant search terms
• Use one or more databases to find appropriate research on their topic
• Understand full text articles can be found in other library sources
• Use Boolean operators and/or truncation
• Manipulate results using database facets and limiting factors
• Identify at least one method to obtain reference help

Suggested add-ons include (additional time required):

• Scholarly vs. Popular Periodicals (10 minutes)
• Website Evaluation (10 minutes)
• Citing Sources (10 minutes)
• Avoiding Plagiarism (10 minutes)
• Interlibrary Loan & Document Delivery (10 minutes)

Use these discriptions to to guide you through the creation of a customized library course. If time permits, these modules may be added to 50 or 90 minute sessions--just make sure to note this addition on your request form!