Library Class and Subject Guides: Urban &amp; Regional Studies: Articles

Find Sources Using MavScholar

Use the MavScholar search box below to find most, but not all, library items available at Minnesota State Mankato.

Find articles, books, videos & more

Advanced Search

What is MavScholar?

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to articles, as well as full text of articles from over 4,600 publications, covering almost every academic subject.
This resource is provided by the Electronic Library of Minnesota, freely accessible to anyone in Minnesota!
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of disciplines such as agriculture, biology & genetics, arts & humanities, biochemistry, business, chemical engineering, chemistry, computer science, earth & planetary sciences, economics, environmental science, mathematics, medicine & dentistry, physics & astronomy, social sciences, and veterinary science & medicine.
ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable collection of full image articles published in American Society of Civil Engineers journals, covering all aspects of civil engineering, including planning, construction management, environment, transportation, and waterways.
The default search goes to the index for ALL content from ASCE, not just what we pay for. If you are asked to login or register for access, this means that we do not have access to that particular book, conference proceedings or standard. You can request these materials through interlibrary loan.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art to various areas of architecture and architectural design and includes full text for over 600 journals and 230 books.

Transporation Research Board Information Services
Free web database of citations relating to the study of transportation. Use Journals List to see if we subscribe to titles list here.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and selected full text to articles, company reports, industry reports, market research reports, and country reports about all aspects of business, “including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, and economics.”
This resource is provided by the Electronic Library of Minnesota, freely accessible to anyone in Minnesota!

How to Use Google Scholar Off-Campus

If you are using Google Scholar off campus, change your settings to link to our library holdings.

Click here to access Google Scholar's settings
Select Library Links to the left
Search for Minnesota State University Mankato
Check all options for Minnesota State University Mankato
Press the Save button
Conduct your search in Google Scholar
If you cannot access the articles by clicking on the title, click the "View It @ My Library" or the double arrow icon and the "Get it @ MNSU" links.
You may be asked to enter your StarID username and password to access the article
If the article is still not found, use Interlibrary Loan to have the library get the article for you.

Finding Journal Articles at MSU Guide

See our Journal Articles guide to learn more about finding articles for your research.

Newspapers

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Includes full text for over 300 U.S. and International newspapers
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides full text newspaper articles. Also provides citations and selected full text to legal materials, including federal code and regulations, state codes, tax law, and state and federal case law.

Council of Planning Librarians (CPL) Bibliography

Council of Planning Librarians (CPL) Bibliography in the Journal of Planning Literature
Each issue of the Journal of Planning Literature includes a listing of current planning literature by topic. To browse the bibliography, click on a specific issue and then "Bibliographic Listings". This is a great quick way to browse what is being written in the various sub-fields of urban planning.

Find a Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper

The following search box lists journals, magazines and newspapers available (both print and electronic) from Memorial Library. This link is most useful when you have a citation for a journal and would like to see if we own it.

Urban & Regional Studies: Articles