Available Soil Surveys
This is the "Home" page of the "Maps Guide (Mary T Dooley Map Library LibGuide)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Maps Guide (Mary T Dooley Map Library LibGuide)   Tags: aerial photos, atlases, cartography, geography, geology, maps, soil surveys, tourism, travel guides  

A guide to the cartographic materials of Memorial Library at Minnesota State University, Mankato.
Last Updated: Dec 2, 2013 URL: http://libguides.mnsu.edu/mapsarea Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Map of the Department

In the southeast corner of Memorial Library, there is a weath of geographic information including maps, atlases, aerial photographs, and much more. 

Collections Beyond Memorial Library

Other nearby collections include: 

  • John R. Borchert Map Library | University of Minnesota  Icon
    The Borchert Map Library has cartographic materials: maps, atlases, and aerial photographs. The Automated Cartographic Information Center (ACIC), housed in the Map Library, offers access to digital spatial data to create and print maps.
  • Don Lee Kulow Memorial Library | Earth Resources Obervation and Science Center
    The collections comprise more than 6,500 reference works, including books, professional papers, reports, conference proceedings, atlases, and audiovisual resources; 30 print serial subscriptions; online full-text access to more than 1,500 journal titles; and online research reference databases funded by the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), the Department of the Interior, the South Dakota Library Network, the South Dakota State Library, and the EROS Library.
  • Map Collection | Minnesota Historical Society
    The map collection at the Minnesota Historical Society consists of about 19,000 maps and nearly 2,000 volumes of atlases. The collection strongly emphasizes Minnesota Territory and the state of Minnesota, its regions, counties and cities from 1849 to the present.
 

Key to Circulation

Look for bold green words for keyword search help and whether or not the item circulates.

Look for bold gold words for items that circulate depending on circumstance.

Bold red words indicate that the items do not circulate.

 

Contacts

Reference help is available at the Maps Desk or by phone (507-389-1288) from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. daily. Outside of these hours, help is available at the Reference Desk on the first floor of the library or by phone (507-389-5958) or Ask a Librarian.

Harry Perkins
Map Technician
harold.perkins@mnsu.edu
507-389-1288

Evan Rusch
Government Documents Librarian 
evan.rusch@mnsu.edu
507-389-2460

 

Featured Titles in the Maps Area

Upon entering the maps area, featured titles are displayed in the first bay of the shelf that borders the northern side of the department.

Cover Art
The Times Comprehensive Atlas of the World
Call Number: G1021 .T5644 2011 (on display)

Cover Art
Concise Earth: The World Atlas - Charles F. Gritzner
Call Number: G1021 .C66 2008 (on display)

Cover Art
Atlas of the Great Irish Famine, 1845-52
Call Number: DA950.7 .A85 2012 (on display)

Cover Art
Atlas of the Great Plains - Lavin, Stephen J.
Call Number: G1382.S1 L2 2011 (On Display)
ISBN: 0803215363
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
Space atlas - James Trefil
Call Number: QB65 .T74 2012 (On Display)
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Prairie Directory of North America - Charlotte Adelman; Bernard L. Schwartz
Call Number: QH102 .A34 2013 (On Display)
Publication Date: 2013-07-05

Cover Art
Atlas of Yellowstone - W. Andrew Marcus
Call Number: G1477.Y4 A8 2012 (On Display)
Publication Date: 2012

Cover Art
Mapping India - Lahiri, Manosi
Call Number: GA1131 .L34 2012 (On Display)
Publication Date: 2012.

Cover Art
World atlas of oil and gas basins - Li Guoyu
Call Number: G1046.H8 L5 2011(On Display)
Publication Date: 2011

 

Credit

Maps Area Libguide content organized by Renee Pieschke, Graduate Assistant--Reference, 2012.


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip